Picture 004

Esperanza is proud of Community Health Promoter Gina Serrano! who graduated from Los Angeles Trade Technical College with a AA degree.

I believe I can be a college student. When Director of Community Planning Department, Benny Torres, opened the  door to college for all community health promoters,WOW! My opportunity was there!  Education is one of my values. 

Gina has two sons to model for.  Her little one, Pablo, stayed at the college’s childcare center while Gina attended class.  The first semester she remembers coming home after 10:00 p.m. tired and hungry but happy, knowing that “by taking one step per day” her goal of acquiring her AA degree was closer.

Gina attended classes for three years because she was able to take one class per semester because she works full-time as a Health Promoter/Case Manager for Esperanza Community Housing Corporation, and as health Ambassador with HEAC (Healthy Eating, Activity Communities).  Gina is also the President of “El Comité De Promotores” and Board Member of the Corridor Figueroa Community Land Trust.

My personal mission is to cultivate and integrate my expertise while demonstrating a growing life through love, education, healing and seeing the good in everyone”.  Gina works to promote multicultural community enhancement.   She says that  Esperanza and Los Angeles Trade Techinical Community College are her partners  in this mission.

Gina thanks all her teachers, mentors, administrators and classmates who supported her through this journey. 

Education is power.  This day is the result of hard work with dedication, loyalty, passion, and hope in my heart.  Expect the best in the future and hard work to achieve it.  My future is in my hands, I have the power to make my own decisions, and I choose the best  for me and for my family.  says Gina.

We are proud of  you, Gina!